Types of silence:

I attempted to cut myself and it’s not because I want to die.

And I understand why Jas cuts herself. And I think I might understand why she took the jump.

I don’t cut because I want attention. I don’t cut because I want to die.

I cut because it stops me from crying. I cut because it alleviates the pain. I cut because when I wake the next morning the scars remind me I am still alive and this was a choice I made. I cut because when I feel like I’m free-falling, it keeps me sane and in control.

I’m sorry if you read this and feel all queasy.

I am really alright. I just want to hug everyone real tight.

Mummy says I need to learn to let go.

But ma, holding on is the only talent I have. If I lose it, what will I become?

Leave a Reply

